Fr. prof. Waldemar Chrostowski

Associate Professor
Cardinal Stefan Wyszynski University

Born February 1st, 1951, Chrostowo, poviat Ostrołęka. He was ordained a priest on June 6, 1976 by Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński. In 1978-1983 he studied at the Pontifical Biblical Institute in Rome and the Hebrew University in Jerusalem. He received his doctorate in theology in 1986, habilitation in 1996, and the title of professor of theology in 2003. Since 2005, he has been a full professor at the Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University in Warsaw. In the years 2001-2010 he was also a professor at the Nicolaus Copernicus University in Toruń. Theologian and biblical scholar, specialist in the exegesis
of the Old Testament and the relationship between the Church and Judaism.

Promoter and reviewer of dozens of doctoral dissertations, he also participated in dozens of habilitation procedures and proceedings for the academic title of professor. Vice-Rector of the Cardinal Stefan Wyszyński University for Teaching and Student Affairs (1999-2002); member of the Subcommittee and then the Commission of the Polish Episcopate for Dialogue with Judaism (1988-2004); co-chairman of the Polish Council of Christians and Jews (1990-1998); vice-president of the Biblical Section at the Polish Bishops' Conference (1998-2003); chairman of the Polish Biblical Association (2003-2013); member of the Theological Sciences Committee of the Polish Academy of Sciences (2008-2020); consultant of the Biblical Studies Section of the Commission for the Doctrine of the Faith of the Polish Episcopal Conference (2010-2020); editor-in-chief of the quarterly of Polish theologians "Collectanea heologica" (1990-2020). Since 1994 a full member of the Polish Academy of Philately. Consultor at the Synod of Bishops in Rome dedicated to the Word of God (2008). His writing achievements include books, scientific and popular science articles, religious and theological journalism, and reviews - a total of over 3,000 publications. Since 2008 chaplain of His Holiness (prelate). Since 2012, a member of the Order of the Holy Sepulcher in Jerusalem. Winner of the Vatican Ratzinger Prize (2014), which the Joseph Ratzinger – Benedict XVI Foundation awards to the most outstanding theologians.